Leadership Wilmington Class of 2014 Announced
July 23, 2013
CFF and BB&T Present $50,000 Donation to UNCW Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship
August 5, 2013
Show all

Leadership Wilmington Alumnus of the Year Award Finalists Announced

The Wilmington Chamber Foundation has announced finalists for the Karl Davis Leadership Wilmington Alumnus of the Year Award for 2013: Ben David (District Attorney, New Hanover and Pender counties), Mitch Lamm (Vice President, First Citizens Bank), and Jimmy Hopkins (Broker, Intracoastal Realty Corporation).

Serving his third term, District Attorney Ben David has committed himself to protecting the citizens of New Hanover and Pender counties through the prosecution of criminals. He is a founding member of the Blue Ribbon Commission on the Prevention of Youth Violence. His organization of the Summit On School Safety is now being used as a model across the state for developing partnerships with schools, law enforcement, the business community and mental health care practitioners to curb bullying and violence in schools. David was a member of the Governor’s Gang Task Force, serves on the Chief Justice’s Commission on Professionalism, and served as President of the NC Conference of District Attorneys and NC District Attorneys Association. He is a 2004 graduate of Leadership Wilmington.

Mitch Lamm is a leader in the banking industry and is actively involved in the community. He has served as the chairman of the Chamber Foundation Board of Directors, was a 2013 division leader in the annual Chamber sustainable resources development campaign, and is a member of the Chamber board of directors. He currently serves as treasurer of the Lower Cape Fear Hospice, is a board member and treasurer for New Horizons Elementary School, and is a member of the school superintendent’s Business Advisory Council. Mitch is also a youth Sunday school teacher and a deacon at First Presbyterian Church. He is a 2007 graduate of Leadership Wilmington.

Jimmy Hopkins uses his leadership skills to guide his team at Intracoastal Realty and improve the community through his robust involvement. Former Governor Beverly Perdue appointed Hopkins to the Cape Fear Community College Board of Trustees. He currently serves as chair of the Historic Preservation Commission, as a board member at Phoenix Employment Ministries, as a member of the Vision 2020 Committee, and on the External Committee for the Wilmington Firefighter’s Memorial Garden. Hopkins co-sponsors a charity event every year called Sports for a Cause that benefits a local non profit. He is a 2009 graduate of Leadership Wilmington.

The Leadership Wilmington Alumnus of the Year award is given annually in memory of Karl Davis, a visionary Wilmington leader, a graduate of Leadership Wilmington, and the former general manager of local NBC affiliate WECT TV-6. The recipient of this award must be a graduate of Leadership Wilmington, contribute significantly to the enhancement of the community through inspirational and visionary leadership, and encourage the development of leaders within the community. The selection committee was composed of members of the Chamber Foundation Board of Directors and former honorees.

The Karl Davis Leadership Wilmington Alumnus of the Year Award will be presented by Wilmington Mayor Bill Saffo in a ceremony at the Wilmington Chamber of Commerce on Thursday, August 8, 2013 at 5:30 pm. Media are encouraged to attend the presentation.

For more information, please contact Haskell Rhett at 910.762.2611 ext. 204 or email rhett@wilmingtonchamber.org.